Librarians
Weston Woods
Title Search:        Advanced Search
Catalog Quick Shop
View OrderView Order
0 Items
View ListView List
0 Items
 
New Releases
New Releases   |    Recent Releases
Results 1 - 10 of 11 Previous | Next
Weston Woods New Releases
 
  1. Be Strong

    Grades: K–1
    Author: Pat Zietlow Miller / Illustrator: Jen Hill

    A picture book about finding strength in unlikely places from the team behind the hugely popular New York Times bestseller Be Kind.

    When her gym class must face the school rock-climbing wall, Tanisha is discouraged. Her muscles are weak, and she knows she'll never reach the top like Cayla.

    But maybe strength is about more than just muscles.

    With help from her family, Tanisha learns that by showing up, speaking up, and not giving up, she can be strong, too. And that people are the strongest when they work together and trust each other.

    Award-winning author Pat Zietlow Miller has reunited with illustrator Jen Hill for Be Strong, another unforgettable story sure to inspire kids and adults alike.

    Read-Along Feature


  2. Chez Bob

    Grades: PreK–3
    Author: Bob Shea / Illustrator: Bob Shea

    From the hilarious author of Who Wet My Pants?, Unicorn Thinks He's Pretty Great, and the Dinosaur Vs. series comes a kid-pleasing read-aloud about a devious alligator who learns to love!

    Welcome to Chez Bob, which seems like a real restaurant…until you realize…it's on an alligator's NOSE! Bob's got a hidden plan for his customers: "Birds will come to eat, but I will eat the birds!" As they fly in from all over the world to dine on Bob's face, something starts to happen that takes the lazy, hungry reptile by surprise -- the birds stay. "More yummy birds!" he rejoices -- he'll want for nothing! But when the time is right, will Bob make the right choice?

    Comic genius Bob Shea cooks up a tasty tale that proves anyone, even hungry alligators, can have a change of heart and learn to be a good friend.

    Author Interview Available
    Read-Along Feature


  3. How Do Dinosaurs Say Goodbye?

    Grades: PreK–1
    Author: Jane Yolen / Illustrator: Mark Teague

    When they have to part from a loved one, they might cry, or hide in their bedrooms, or even write "DON'T GO!" on the wall. But with a little courage, they can face their fears. They can tell grown-ups how they're feeling and know that time apart can still be filled with love. This humorous and heartfelt picture book from bestselling duo Jane Yolen and Mark Teague will teach young readers how to say goodbye with poise and grace -- with laugh-out-loud antics along the way! Each How Do Dinosaurs book is a combination of childish antics followed by a gentle lesson -- with over 19 million books in print. See if your little readers can find the names of each dinosaur, hidden on each page!

    Read-Along Feature


  4. Mel Fell

    Grades: PreK–3
    Author: Corey R. Tabor / Illustrator: Corey R. Tabor

    A charming and innovative tale about a plucky little bird, from the award-winning author-illustrator of Fox the Tiger.

    Readers will delight in turning their book sideways and upside down to follow Mel on her journey from downward fall to triumphant flight in this tale of self-confidence and taking a leap of faith.

    An especially enjoyable and satisfying read-aloud!

    Read-Along Feature


  5. Our Table

    Grades: PreK–3
    Author: Peter H. Reynolds  / Illustrator: Peter H. Reynolds

    Creative visionary of The Word Collector, Happy Dreamer, and The Dot, #1 New York Times bestseller Peter H. Reynolds creates a tender, lyrical story of multigenerational love, tradition, and family coming together with gratitude and thanks.

    An Amazon Best Children's Book of 2021

    Celebrated, bestselling creator Peter H. Reynolds brings his signature touch of love and kindness to this special, timely picture book, as families now, more than ever, are rediscovering and reevaluating what means the most: time together with one another.

    Violet longs for the time when her family was connected: before life, distractions, and technology pulled them all away from each other. They used to gather at the table, with food and love, to make memories, share their lives, and revel in time spent together. But now her family has been drifting apart, and with nobody to gather around it, the table grows smaller and smaller.

    Can Violet remind her family of the warmth of time spent together, and gather around the table once more?

    A mystical fable that feels at once timeless and utterly of the present moment, Our Table is renowned, bestselling creator Peter H. Reynolds at his best. Exquisite, expressive watercolor tells a tender story, growing from monochrome into luscious, joyful color as Violet's family is reunited around the beloved table. An ode to traditions that unite families, Our Table brings readers together with a universal message of gratitude.

    Read-Along Feature


  6. The Little Butterfly that Could/La Pequeña Mariposa que Sí Pudo

    Grades: PreK–3
    Author: Ross Burach / Illustrator: Ross Burach

    This sequel to The Very Impatient Caterpillar is a playful parody on butterfly migration - delivered with hilarity and heart. It pays loving homage to every child's struggle to spread their wings and gain confidence and independence. Bursting with jokes, heart, STEM tie-ins about butterfly migration, and relatable social-emotional themes, including persistence and growth mindset - this is sure to be a read-aloud favorite!

    Read-Along Feature


  7. The Little Red Fort

    Grades: PreK–3
    Author: Brenda Maier / Illustrator: Sonia Sanchez

    A spunky, feminist adaptation of the timeless favorite, The Little Red Hen, sure to appeal to fans of Rosie Revere, Engineer.

    A Chicago Public Library Best Book of the Year*

    "The Little Red Hen gets an appealing girl-power update…Young makers of all genders will be inspired." --The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books, starred review

    Ruby's mind is always full of ideas. One day, she finds some old boards and decides to build something. She invites her brothers to help, but they just laugh and tell her she doesn't know how to build. "Then I'll learn," she says. And she does! When she creates a dazzling fort that they all want to play in, it is Ruby who has the last laugh.

    With sprightly text and winsome pictures, this modern spin on the timeless favorite The Little Red Hen celebrates the pluck and ingenuity of young creators everywhere!

    Read-Along Feature


  8. The Little Wooden Robot and the Log Princess

    Grades: PreK–3
    Author: Tom Gauld / Illustrator: Tom Gauld

    For years, the king and queen have tried desperately to have a baby. Their wish was granted twice, when an engineer and a witch gave them a little wooden robot and an enchanted log princess.

    But there's just one catch: every night when the log princess sleeps, she transforms back into an ordinary log, and can only be woken up with magic words.

    The princess and her robot brother are are inseparable, until the sleeping princess, mistaken for lumber, is accidentally carted off to parts unknown. Now it's up to her devoted brother to find her, and get them safely back home.

    They need to take turns to get each other home, and on the way, they face a host of adventures involving the Queen of Mushrooms, a magic pudding, a baby in a rosebush, and an old lady in a bottle.

    This is acclaimed graphic novelist Tom Gauld's first picture book for children, inspired by a bedtime story he made up for his daughters. In his words, "I was trying to make a book inspired by three different sets of books: The books that I remember enjoying as a child, the books that I watched my daughters enjoying, and the books I enjoy now as an adult. I wanted the book to have its own quirky feeling but also to function like a classic bedtime story."

    Read-Along Feature


  9. The Pigeon Will Ride the Roller Coaster!

    Grades: PreK–1
    Author: Mo Willems / Illustrator: Mo Willems

    From #1 New York Times best-selling, award-winning author and illustrator Mo Willems!

    Buckle up for twists, turns, and emotional loop-de-loops in the most roller coaster-y Pigeon book ever! The Pigeon WILL be ready. Will YOU!?

    Read-Along Feature


  10. Water is Water: A Book About the Water Cycle

    Grades: 1–3
    Author: Miranda Paul / Illustrator: Jason Chin

    Drip. Sip. Pour me a cup. Water is water unless…it heats up.
    Whirl. Swirl. Watch it curl by. Steam is steam unless…it cools high.

    This spare, poetic picture book follows a group of kids as they move through all the different phases of the water cycle. From rain to fog to snow to mist, talented author Miranda Paul and the always remarkable Jason Chin (Redwoods, Coral Reefs, Island, Gravity) combine to create a beautiful and informative journey in this innovative nonfiction picture book that will leave you thirsty for more.

    Read-Along Feature


Read-Along highlights each word as it is narrated.
Results 1 - 10 of 11 Previous | Next

Format Legend
Format Legend